Ian Harrison

grew up in Newcastle upon Tyne in the North East of England, the last corner of that country to have retained its own type of bagpipe.  He began his musical carreer as a Lay Clerk in the Choir of Canterbury Cathedral.  He completed an MA in Music at the City University, London and went on to study at the Royal Conservatory, The Hague and at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis in Switzerland. He is founder-member of  the ensemble for medieval and renaissance wind music Les haulz et les bas and of the ensemble for traditional music from historical sources The Early Folk Band. Combining traditional techniques, baroque virtuosity and an enormous knowledge of medieval music sources he has developed a new style, 'set new standards', and become one of Europe's leading improvisers on shawm, bagpipes and cornett. The international press has named him 'the Miles Davis of Early Music'. He is a composer in many historical and traditional styles, teaches mediaeval and renaissance wind music at the Schola Cantorum Basiliensis and has given lectures and masterclasses throughout Europe and North America.  His activities with his own ensembles and as guest soloist with many leading groups and orchestras including The Harp Consort, Ensemble Sarband, The New London Consort, the Prague Chamber Orchestra, the Bochum Symphony Orchestra and the Metropole Orchestra, Hilversum, have taken him round the world. His original, virtuosic and improvisational skills have earned him prizes at the Bruges Early Music Festival, the Rencontres des Maitres Sonneurs, St. Chartier and the German Pop and Rock Awards.

“Ian Harrison's shawm playing reached extatic heights of virtuosity”
FRANKFURTER ALLGEMEINE ZEITUNG


  “Ian Harrison's playing proved that the virtuosity of the shawm is nothing less than that of modern instruments”
REUTLINGER NACHRICHTEN


   “Ian Harrison and his Ensemble Les haulz et les bas set new standards of shawm playing“
SCOTTISH EARLY MUSIC FORUM


  “Ian Harrison reached some otherworldly sounds on the cornett ... breathtaking.”
BEIRUT DAILY STAR


  “For the full range of what's possible on the shawm listen to Ian Harrison of Les haulz et les bas"
EARLY MUSIC TODAY


“...the Miles Davis of the Early Music scene”
EARLY MUSIC REVIEW

"We all know that Ian Harrison is brilliant"

EARLY MUSIC REVIEW

Go no more a-rushing: Gesine Bänfer and Ian Harrison

The Early Folk Duo - Gesine and Ian - play and sing the riddle song, 'Go no more a rushing'.  The text goes back to the 14th century and this tune is found in English keyboard manuscripts from the early 17th century. The arrangement is by Gesine and the diminutions by Ian.

Stella Splendens - Hirundo Maris feat. Ian, Zink

Zusammen mit Arianna Savall, Petter Johansen, Gesine Bänfer und special Guest Pilar Figueras in einer besonders meditativen Version des Pilgerlieds aus dem Llibre Vermell de Montserrat.   Aufgenommen am 5.6.2020.

Video-Clip zu Ostern in der Barockkirche, St. Peter feat. Ian, Zink

Als Christen Ostern ohne Gottesdienste zelebrieren mussten.   Aufgenommen am 1.4.2020

Ave Maria I say: Ian Harrison, Miriam Andersén und Susanne Ansorg

Das exquisite anonyme englische Lied aus dem 14. Jhdt. gespielt im Aachener Dom auf den Instrumenten in den Händern der Engeln in der Chorhalle.

The Early Folk Band: Robin Hood and Little John mit Ian Harrison - Zink

  1. Robin Hood and Little John

Madame d'amours: Musica Antiqua of London feat. Ian Harrison - Zink

  1. Madame d'amours

Gautier de Coincy: Douce Dame: The Harp Consort feat. Ian Harrison, Zink

  1. Gautier de Coincy - Douce Dame

Ubi caritas: Osnabrücker Jugendchor mit Improvisationen von Ian Harrison - Zink

  1. Ubi caritas

Ian Harrison mit dem Ensemble Oni Wytars "1600 - music at the court of Naples"

Ian Harrison

wuchs in Newcastle, Nordengland auf, wo die Northumbrian Smallpipes traditionell immer noch gespielt werden.  Seine musikalische Karriere begann er als Lay Clerk (Berufssänger) im Chor der Kathedrale von Canterbury.  Er erhielt einen MA in Musik von der City University, London und studierte weiter am Königlichen Konservatorium Den Haag und an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis in Basel.   Mit einer Kombination von Instrumentaltechniken aus der Folk Musik, barocker Virtuosität und einem tiefen Wissen über mittelalterlichen Quellen hat er neue Standards gesetzt und ist zu Europas führendem Improvisator auf den Mittelalter- und Renaissanceinstrumenten Schalmei, Dudelsack und Zink geworden. Die Presse hat ihn den "Miles Davis der alten Musik" genannt.  Er ist Spezialist für historische Improvisation und komponiert in verschiedenen historischen und traditionellen Stilen.  Er ist Gründungsmitglied des Ensembles für historische Bläsermusik Les haulz et les bas und The Early Folk Band und ist mit diesen Ensembles sowie als Gastsolist mit vielen unterschiedlichen Gruppen und Orchestern um die ganze Welt gereist.  Er unterrichtet Schalmei und Musik des Mittelalters und der Renaissance an der Schola Cantorum Basiliensis und hielt Vorträge und Masterclasses in ganz Europa und Nordamerika.   Durch seinen originellen improvisatorischen und virtuosen Stil wurde er Preisträger beim Bruges Early Music Festival, bei den Rencontres des Maîtres Sonneurs, St. Chartier und bei den German Rock and Pop Awards.


Ian Harrisons Schalmeispiel erreichte extatische Höhenflüge der Virtuosität. 
FRANKFURTER ALLGEMEINE ZEITUNG

Ian Harrisons Spiel war der Beweis, dass Virtuosität auf der Schalmei möglich ist -  in keinster Weise geringer als auf modernen Instrumenten.
REUTLINGER NACHRICHTEN

Ian Harrison und sein Ensemble Les haulz et les bas setzten neue Standards im Schalmeispielen.  
SCOTTISH EARLY MUSIC FORUM

Ian Harrison erreichte ausserirdische Klänge auf dem Zink … atemraubend.
BEIRUT DAILY STAR

Für die ganze Bandbreite der Möglichkeiten auf der Schamei hören Sie Ian Harrison von Les haulz et les bas.
EARLY MUSIC TODAY

Der Miles Davis der Alten-Musik-Szene... 
EARLY MUSIC REVIEW

Wir alle wissen, dass Ian Harrison genial ist...
 EARLY MUSIC REVIEW

Go no more a-rushing: Gesine Bänfer and Ian Harrison

The Early Folk Duo - Gesine and Ian - play and sing the riddle song, 'Go no more a rushing'.  The text goes back to the 14th century and this tune is found in English keyboard manuscripts from the early 17th century. The arrangement is by Gesine and the diminutions by Ian.

Stella Splendens - Hirundo Maris feat. Ian, Zink

Zusammen mit Arianna Savall, Petter Johansen, Gesine Bänfer und special Guest Pilar Figueras in einer besonders meditativen Version des Pilgerlieds aus dem Llibre Vermell de Montserrat.   Aufgenommen am 5.6.2020.

Video-Clip zu Ostern in der Barockkirche, St. Peter feat. Ian, Zink

Als Christen Ostern ohne Gottesdienste zelebrieren mussten.   Aufgenommen am 1.4.2020

Ave Maria I say: Ian Harrison, Miriam Andersén und Susanne Ansorg

Das exquisite anonyme englische Lied aus dem 14. Jhdt. gespielt im Aachener Dom auf den Instrumenten in den Händern der Engeln in der Chorhalle.

The Early Folk Band: Robin Hood and Little John mit Ian Harrison - Zink

  1. Robin Hood and Little John end Ians Album Ian

Madame d'amours: Musica Antiqua of London feat. Ian Harrison - Zink

  1. Madame d'amours Ians Album Ian

Gautier de Coincy: Douce Dame: The Harp Consort feat. Ian Harrison, Zink

  1. 4 Coincy_ Douce Dame (Instrumental)

Ubi caritas: Osnabrücker Jugendchor mit Improvisationen von Ian Harrison - Zink

  1. Ubi caritas concert 1

Ian Harrison mit dem Ensemble Oni Wytars "1600 - music at the court of Naples"